Title of the document

Newbie - What do I need?

Kev

Posting this for the group as I'd like to eventually consolidate the conversations here and move them to the reference section as this is a fairly common question.

Assume I'm brand new to woodworking and I plan on sticking with the hobby. What big tools do I need and in what order should they come?  Also, in a second list, what smaller tools do I need and in what order?

I'll start with my list but, reserve the right to change my order and add to the list....lol

Shop Equipment:

• Table Saw
  • Planer
  • Jointer
  • Dust Collection
  • Bandsaw
  • Miter Saw
  • Router Table
  • Drill Press
  • Drum Sander

Protable Tools:

• Clamps
  • Cordless drill / bits
  • Router / Basic bits
  • Sander
  • Jig Saw
  • Chisels/mallet
  • Sharpening system
  • Block Plane
  • Hand Saw - Rip and Crosscut
  • Router Plane
  • Low Angle Jack plane
  • Track Saw

Other Essential Items:

• Accurate square
  • marking knife
  • Bench - Useable with vises
  • Shop consumables - Glue, finishes, sandpaper, etc..

Very good list as a good starting point.

Personally I would move the miter saw down the list to just above drum sander.  I have said this before, it eats a lot of space in the shop and is basically a 1 trick pony.  I would add a jigsaw (corded or cordless) as a way to crosscut without MS.  I would make a note to buy you last table saw first, mistake I made, only plus is now I have 2.  I would also prefer a 5 1/2 over low angle jack.  

• Like 2

16 minutes ago, Woodenskye (Bryan) said:

Very good list as a good starting point.

Personally I would move the miter saw down the list to just above drum sander.  I have said this before, it eats a lot of space in the shop and is basically a 1 trick pony.  I would add a jigsaw (corded or cordless) as a way to crosscut without MS.  I would make a note to buy you last table saw first, mistake I made, only plus is now I have 2.  I would also prefer a 5 1/2 over low angle jack.