Title of the document

Bedroom Door

Coop

Construction will break ground shortly at my house for an addition that will include a much needed larger master bathroom. As part of the construction will mean my wife and I moving to another bedroom, she has asked that I not build the vanities as she is afraid that I will hold up construction ( and that might be valid) . I have received permission though to build the door leading into the bathroom. I didn’t tell her I have never built a door before. Dimensions will be 1.5” x 36” x 80” and will be built out of some walnut slabs that I’ve had drying for about 5 years.  If all goes right, it will look something like this.

https://www.doors4home.com/p-3917-c4-1.aspx?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIrcfXkoja6gIVSr3ACh18pgBMEAsYAiABEgIna_D_BwE#mz-expanded-view-295661456540

Due to the weight, I’m thinking of making the glass lites larger than shown above. I did a full size pattern as seen below. The glass lites are the blue taped in area. Shown are with 5” stiles, 8” bottom rail, 5” top rail and 3.5” center rails. Any criticism will be taken as constructive and welcomed.

82A91C41-FC50-4653-BBE5-0345980CF306.thumb.jpeg.3af51744cad54f43af46d79ebf6d5243.jpeg

• Like 3

It look proportional to me. Soild wood doors are heavy that all there is to that. If it is a bathroom door I would leave a bigger gap at the bottom along the sill. For two reason one expansion due to humidity from the shower. Also to help the the steam a place to escape to help the possibility of the mildew 

• Like 2

Thanks Bryan. That has been the consensus among my family members as well. Hopefully, when finished, it will look better than the ply pattern. I’ll post the progress, ever so slight as it may be. I’m kinda wanting to do the frame, jamb and trim in walnut as well but I’m not sure how much walnut I’m willing to sacrifice if this goes south. I guess I can still say that? 

• Like 1