Title of the document

TS - Power Proportional to Kickback

Coop

I’ve wondered this for a long time and a recent thread on WTO regarding a SawStop made me ask. I currently have a 1 3/4 hp Jet ts, purchased in 2010.  It came with a riving knife but I don’t what I did with it and never installed it. After joining WTO and listening, I realized how important it could be. I ordered one and and it was for thin kerf blades and I took it off as I switch back and forth. So having said that, I have been pushing my luck for ten years. Question is, all things equal, is a higher powered saw more likely to kick back than say the one I have? Currently I can see if the board comes back together on a rip cut and can hear the saw becoming in a bind, thus providing me time to shut the saw off. I suspect with a higher powered ts, I would not hear that and that it would kick back? Hope that makes sense and I don’t mean this as an excuse to not use the knife, regardless of whether or not I replace my saw with another. 

Edited by Coop

1 minute ago, Coop said:

I’ve wondered this for a long time and a recent thread on WTO regarding a SawStop made me ask. I currently have a 1 3/4 hp Jet ts, purchased in 2010.  It came with a riving knife but I don’t what I did with it and never installed it. After joining WTO and listening, I realized how important it could be. I ordered one and and it was for thin kerf blades and I took it off as I switch back and forth. So having said that, I have been pushing my luck for ten years. Question is, all things equal, is a higher powered saw more likely to kick back than say the one I have? Currently I can see if the board comes back together on a rip cut and can hear the saw becoming in a bind. I suspect with a higher powered ts, I would not hear that and that it would kick back? Hope that makes sense and I don’t mean this as an excuse to not use the knife, regardless of whether or not I replace my saw with another.