Title of the document

Drill Press - Starting the Hunt

Kev

I'm just beginning my research for the next drill press.  I'm going to keep a completely open mind as I'm just not a "tool snob".  I'm approaching this as if money is not a consideration unless there's a couple machines with very similar features and power but, one is considerably cheaper for essentially the same thing.

There's some features that are important to me.

• Floor Standing
  • Good Power
  • Foot Switch Option
  • Good depth stop
  • Tilting bed
  • Warranty

Here's some of the ones that I've spent a few minutes looking at. Open to any other suggestions to consider.

• Nova
  • Jet
  • Shop Fox
  • Grixx
  • Rikon
  • Powermatic - I would have to choke hard to buy one of these but, it may be the best option

I'm sure many of you have done more research than I have so, that's the reason for this post.  I'm interested in your research and experience as I drive down to my final decision.

On that note, I should say that replacing my current Grizz machine is not absolutely mandatory.

Let the discussions begin!

I really like the Nova, I think it is great with the adjustment of speeds for drilling different materials.  My only concern is I’m not certain about the longevity of the electronics.  The price point is higher, but more features.  A drill press is s fairly simple machine, and I probably would go jet or rikon.  This would be the tool I would be more price conscious on especially if I had or want to upgrade other tools.

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, Woodenskye (Bryan) said:

I really like the Nova, I think it is great with the adjustment of speeds for drilling different materials.  My only concern is I’m not certain about the longevity of the electronics.  The price point is higher, but more features.  A drill press is s fairly simple machine, and I probably would go jet or rikon.  This would be the tool I would be more price conscious on especially if I had or want to upgrade other tools.