Title of the document

New ir Compressor

Chet

Submitted on the old forum by Kev

I've been running a very old Makita over/under compressor since about 1994.  It's been an awesome compressor that has taken everything I've ever thrown at it and still runs great!  My only complaint that I've ever had with it was how loud it is.

So, seeing good reviews and seeing even better prices, I broke down and replaced the old Makita.  Actually, I'm just moving to the garage.  

I picked up California Air Tools 5510SE compressor.  One of the lesser expensive ones so, we'll see how it goes.  Here's the link.  www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NOSCDPA/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I've only gotten as far as unboxing it and test running it once.  I'll give more feedback once I've had the chance to put it through its paces.

Out of the box, I'm impressed!  Light weight but, has a set of wheels and a handle.  The cord could be a little longer but, that's really not an issue.  When they say it's quiet, they mean that it's quiet!  Really quiet!  I actually had to turn the radio down in the shop to hear the compressor!

So, more follow up as I run it..

Follow up posts

1) 5.5 Gal. Isn’t a lot. What was the capacity of your previous one? For the price, as long as it will keep up, is a deal

2) I think the Makita was about the same really..  Maybe a little more HP?  It is an over under configuration where the new one is just one tank.

I only need it to drive some pin nails and maybe blow off a little dust..  I won't be asking this one to build decks, shops, and paint cars like I did the old one. 

3) My son in law that works in tool repair has been telling me for years that the California Air are pretty top notch equipment. He has convinced me that its the one to get if I replace the present one. Also he says it is way better to get longer air hoses then use longer cords on compressors.